We are thrilled to report that on Tuesday evening, the City Council approved the 2016 budget which includes $30,000 in support for the arts in Topeka!
This is a great victory for those of us who work to support the arts, those who enjoy the arts and those who understand that quality of life is a critical component of our community (so…that’s pretty much everyone).
ARTSConnect has made it a primary goal to secure municipal support for the arts and now the dream is a reality.
The final vote on the budget was 5-3-1. The arts funding was discussed at a previous meeting and the vote was 7-2 with Jeff Coen & Sylvia Ortiz opposing funding for the arts in Topeka.
We strongly encourage you to write to your city council member and the mayor. Please tell them how much you appreciate their understanding of the critical role that the arts play in our community and thank them for their service to Topeka.
Mayor Larry Wolgast – lwolgast@topeka.org
Deputy Mayor Karen Hiller – khiller@topeka.org
Sandra Clear – sclear@topeka.org
Jonathan Schumm – jschumm@topeka.org
Michelle De La Isla – mdelaisla@topeka.org
Brendan Jensen – bjensen@topeka.org
Elaine Schwartz – eschwartz@topeka.org
Richard Harmon – rharmon@topeka.org
Sylvia Ortiz – sortiz@topeka.org (opposed arts funding)
Jeff Coen – jcoen@topeka.org (opposed arts funding)

AUGUST 7th
FIRST FRIDAY ARTWALK GALLERY FEATURES!
2015_SummerMaps

FIRST FRIDAY ART CRAWL
Today is the last day to buy your tickets for this rockin’ way to experience First Friday!

__________

The results of our economic impact survey of the arts in Topeka are now available
and the news is GREAT!!

Click here to access more information including the full survey report.

CLICK HERE to download the latest artwalk map or find a printed copy of the map at your favorite gallery, Topeka Magazine or the latest edition of Seveneightfive Magazine. And don’t forget to sign up for our email list to receive the latest updates about the artwork and other activities featured at each participating business!

 

DONATE TODAY!
  • Great Overland Stations: “Emerging from the Ashes”
    The Great Overland Station is pleased to announce its hottest new exhibit “Emerging from the Ashes”, an exhibit memorializing significant historic fires in our community and pay tribute to the courageous men and women who face this danger. The exhibit is open through September 26, 2015.   Location: The Great Overland Station is located in North […]
  • Great Overland Stations: “Emerging from the Ashes”
    The Great Overland Station is pleased to announce its hottest new exhibit “Emerging from the Ashes”, an exhibit memorializing significant historic fires in our community and pay tribute to the courageous men and women who face this danger. The exhibit is open through September 26, 2015.   Location: The Great Overland Station is located in North […]
  • 25th Annual Traditional Intertribal Pow Wow
    Celebrate Native American culture and customs while savoring authentic food, arts and crafts, demonstrations and dancing at Lake Shawnee. The schedule of events is as follows: Friday, September 4: 3:00 p.m. – Open to the public 4:00 – 5:00 p.m. – Dinner break (on your own) 5:30 – 6:45 p.m. – Gourd dancing 7:00 – […]
  • 25th Annual Traditional Intertribal Pow Wow
    Celebrate Native American culture and customs while savoring authentic food, arts and crafts, demonstrations and dancing at Lake Shawnee. The schedule of events is as follows: Friday, September 4: 3:00 p.m. – Open to the public 4:00 – 5:00 p.m. – Dinner break (on your own) 5:30 – 6:45 p.m. – Gourd dancing 7:00 – […]
  • Great Overland Stations: “Emerging from the Ashes”
    The Great Overland Station is pleased to announce its hottest new exhibit “Emerging from the Ashes”, an exhibit memorializing significant historic fires in our community and pay tribute to the courageous men and women who face this danger. The exhibit is open through September 26, 2015.   Location: The Great Overland Station is located in North […]
  • Downtown Topeka Farmers Market
    Enjoy browsing through fresh produce, flowers, baked goods, crafts, arts, textiles and more at this yearly favorite! The Downtown Topeka Farmers Market is open from 7:30 a.m. to noon every Saturday through November 7. Come rain or shine, make sure you stop by 12th & Harrison to pick up some delicious fruits and veggies, as […]