A heartfelt thank you goes to all arts supporters in Topeka – especially those who attended the Arty Awards on Saturday evening. We had a wonderful time – and were so happy to get to reveal the winners of the 2015 Arty Awards. (And, as you may have heard, we had a killer party following the awards!!)
And the winners are….

Community Arts Award: Aaron Douglas Art Fair
Glenda Taylor Visual Arts Award: Shelly Bedsaul
Performing Arts Award: Kansas Ballet
Literary Arts Award: Annette Billings
People’s Choice Award: SouthWind Gallery

Congratulations to Glenn & Claire Swogger for being named winners of the 2015 Liz Stratton Arts Patron Award!!

Community Arts Award

  • Aaron Douglas Art Fair
  • RagaZagar Community Mural Project
  • Sabatini Gallery

Visual Arts Award

  • Michelle Leivan
  • Shelly Bedsaul
  • Staci Dawn Ogle

Performing Arts Award

  • Kyler Carpenter
  • The Boobie Trap
  • Kansas Ballet Company

Literary Arts Award

  • Annette Billings
  • Jeffrey Ann Goudie
  • Doug Wallace

Thank you to our sponsors!!!

Bartlett & West
Capitol Federal
HTK Architects
Topeka Capital-Journal
CFS Engineers
FHLBank Topeka
Strathman Sales
Visit Topeka
Dynamarine Boats
Backbeat Resources
Clayton Financial
Nvoke Design Studio
Art Print Express
Supersonic Music
Bumble Balloons
Prairie Glass Studio
Pepe & Chela’s

  • Liz Stratton Arts Patron Award: This award honors a person or business that has made a significant investment in support of the arts by donating their time, their money or their other resources for the betterment of the arts across this city.
  • Community Art Award: This award goes to an effort within the city that raises the standard of arts in our community. A neighborhood, a parish, a school or other community effort within our city all would qualify.
  • Performing Art Award: This award goes to a performing artist, company or group that has exhibited a commitment to increasing the quality of performance, audience engagement and makes Topeka a more entertaining place to live, work and play.
  • Visual Art Award: This award goes to an individual artist or group of artists who have exhibited a commitment to our community through their creation of visual artwork.
  • Literary Art Award: This award goes to a writer or group of writers who have a Topeka connection or who write about the city.
  • People’s Choice: Favorite First Friday Artwalk Location: Ballots are being collected across the city through August 15th. Ballots will be tallied and the winner will be announced at the 4th Annual Arty Awards!